Other Common Law Claims

The District of Columbia recognizes many civil claims under its common law in addition to those mentioned elsewhere in this guide. Some examples include the following:

  • Abuse of process;
  • Conspiracy;
  • Loss of consortium;
  • Spoliation of evidence;
  • Wrongful discharge;
  • Wrongful eviction; and
  • Wrongful foreclosure.

For information about other civil claims recognized in the District of Columbia, click here. For information about how to use this guide, click here.